home News forums Reviews Trade links

Go Back   The DVC Boards at MouseOwners.com - the place to talk DVC and Walt Disney World > TRIP REPORTS > Non-DVC-Related Trip Reports
 Register FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Notices

Old 07-15-2013, 09:55 PM   #1
FrankPhillips
Grand Villa

Default Photo TR from the Del Coronado (looks like GF!)

Hi, MouseOwner friends. I understand that this TR won't get much traffic because it's a sub-trip report, but I'm posting anyway because 1) I took BooCoo photos there (that's french for "a lot of pictures"), and 2) you can use your points through RCI to stay there, and 3) it's my 2nd favorite place to vacation (hmmm...guess which is #1?). If I could live in Coronado, CA..... I would.

As you probably know, I am an avid photographer and I take several cameras with me on each trip to get tons of shots. So there won't be a whole lot of commentary, except to explain various photos, so here goes:

The Hotel Del Coronado, aka "The Del", is in Coronado CA. Coronado is not an island, but functions like one, so most people refer to it as "the island". It's actually a peninsula that sticks up to the northwest from extreme southern California. If you google "Hotel Del Coronado" you'll see where it is.

The reason "The Del" matters to YOU, my fellow MouseOwners, is because the Grand Floridian was modeled after it. When you see my photos of "The Del" you'll think you're looking at the GF.

Here's the Del in daytime...from the perspective of what you would see when you drive up to it:

...and here's The Del at dusk from the beach (more about the beach later):

Here is the view of the beach from one of the rooms at The Del:

When we were there, I spotted a wedding taking place down on the beach. In the background you can see an industrial ship. Those islands are actually part of Mexico, and they have an interesting military history....more on that later.